eEnviPer in the Region of Crete (30/09/2013)


The eEnviPer project is currently installing and testing a cloud-based e-government solution for the application, administration and consultation of environmental permits in five European municipalities and regions. This Profile explores the experience and lessons learned so far of one of eEnviPer’s five pilot sites, the Greek region of Crete.


As the fifth largest island in the Mediterranean (and the largest island in Greece), Crete covers an area of 8,335 km². It is located 160 km south of mainland Greece, between the Aegean and the Libyan Seas. In addition to its coastline, which extends for over 1,000 km, Crete is characterized by the variety of its landscapes. One of the first European civilizations, the famous Minoan civilization, flourished in Crete from 3,000 BC to 1,400 BC. Nowadays, Crete has a prominent place in the Greek economy, thanks mainly to its tourism, agriculture and small- and medium-scale industry.

Crete is also an administrative entity within Greece. The region of Crete – one of Greece’s 13 regions - has an elected government and consists of four regional units: Chania, Rethymno, Heraklion and Lasithi. Heraklion is the largest city and the capital of the region. The region is also divided into 24 municipalities. According to the new Greek legislation, the competent authority for this process is the Directorate for Environment and Spatial Planning of the Region of Crete. 

Download the full Profile in pdf, 500 kB